Tags

, ,

M. Owen Bailey and I have pulled a total Thelma and Louise.

We signed up for NaNoWriMo (that’s National Novel Writing Month). Billed as “thirty days and nights of literary abandon,” the goal of NaNo is to write a novel from beginning to end between November 1 and November 31.

Crazy, you say?

Why yes, I respond. Insanely so. Be that as it may, M. and I have signed up and are in for the long haul.

I honestly don’t believe that I can put down 500,000 words in 30 days, not with all I’ve got going on. And while I admire the committment and tenacity of those who are in competition to pull this off, I am not so interested in the competitve part as I am in using this as an opportunity to practice finding and using chunks of time to write each day. 

I do believe I can do SOMETHING this month. I do believe I can write for some TIME each day, maybe a PAGE each day, maybe even a SENTENCE each day, to further my goal of getting a draft of my novel done. I’d say I’m relatively safe from delusions of grandeur at this point. A snail’s pace is good enough for me. God uses everything, nothing is wasted, and the fact that I am proceeding at a snail’s pace is just another moment of grace. My friend Rose, who is an artist, talks with me about taking “baby steps” towards finishing our work. My time does not belong to me. The reality is that God is permitting me to use His time, and whether He allows me a little or a lot, it is the right amount. I have to make the best use of the time I am given, and not worry about the amount.

There was a time when the thought of doing anything like this would have made me sick to my stomach with nerves. I’m happy to be able to say I’m partcipating in NaNoWriMo at all. Now, I’m just along for the ride, taking the plunge, ready to see where it takes me.

